James McIntyre, MBchB, Chair

Dr. McIntyre is chief executive officer of the Anova Health Institute, an independent nonprofit research and technical assistance organization established to improve health through its focus on people infected with or affected by HIV, particularly in developing countries.

Dr. McIntyre is also the international vice-chair of the International Maternal Paediatric and Adolescent AIDS Clinical Trials Network (IMPAACT), the leading global collaborative network on HIV in women and children, which is funded by the US National Institutes of Health (NIH). He leads the NIH-funded Comprehensive International Program of Research on AIDS in South Africa (CIPRA-SA), a collaborative South African research program and one of the largest directly funded NIH research international efforts. He is an honorary professor in the School of Public Health and Family Medicine at the University of Cape Town, and an honorary senior lecturer in the Department of Epidemiology at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health. Dr. McIntyre was the co-founder and executive director (to September 2009) of the Perinatal HIV Research Unit (PHRU), of the University of the Witwatersrand, based at the Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital in Soweto, one of Africa’s largest AIDS research centers working in HIV prevention, treatment and care, and HIV vaccines, and he was previously an associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the university. 

Dr. McIntyre is an internationally recognized expert on mother-to-child transmission of HIV and HIV in women and has published widely in this field. He has served as a consultant to  WHO, UNAIDS and UNICEF, advising on HIV in pregnancy, and has chaired WHO’s Prevention of Mother-to-Child Transmission of HIV Guideline Committee since 2004. He also chairs the Proposal Review Committee for UNITAID. He and Professor Glenda Gray were jointly awarded the 2002 Nelson Mandela Award for Health and Human Rights from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, the 2003 “Heroes in Medicine” award of the International Association of Physicians in AIDS Care (IAPAC), and the 2009 N’Galy-Mann Award of the Foundation for Retrovirology and Human Health for their work on prevention of mother-to-child transmission.